Stalking the end of my ruff draft.


Yep. I am almost done with the rough draft of the book. I won’t call it a first draft. There is so much to go back in and fill in and thicken and work on. It’s short too, It will probably end up about 42,000 words. I am expecting over 80,000 when I go in and spackle over the holes and gaps. Plus this time around has been pretty damn sparse with the description. Just enough for a feel, but not much more. I dropped in two characters who need flesh on their skeletons and backstory, plus expanding the burgeoning love interest. (No nookie this book but I see it down the road.)

All in all, it’s been really satisfying. I am anticipating reading my finished book and being pleased with it.

Which makes me feel weird.

You may not know but I am pretty obsessive when it comes to my fixations. I am fixated on writing so I have been haunting writers in this genre and a place called fangs,fur,and fey here on LJ. I read a lot of writers who worry about wether their stuff is good or not. I mean published, many books under their belt type writers.

I know I suffer from an overabundance of ego, but I like to think I am not delusional. I really like what I am writing. It is familiar enough to satisfy the genre fanboy in me, but i think I have new twists that no just I will enjoy reading. My book feels good. It reads to me like something that people who like Urban fantasy would read and enjoy.

I’m not thinking I will be the next Laurell K Hamilton, but if folks like her stuff then I would think mine would appeal to them also, without being a ripoff. If people like the Blade movies or Supernatural, they should like what I am writing too.

It’s good stuff to me.

So is my ego getting ahead of myself? Who knows? I am just writing what I write and we’ll see what happens.

5 Comments

  1. Thought I’d drop by and comment. Way to go on the rough draft. I skip a lot of that description stuff too when I write. I liked your top ten list posted earlier. Your work sounds like it might be interesting.
    Good luck on finishing and then revising. πŸ™‚

  2. Thought I’d drop by and comment. Way to go on the rough draft. I skip a lot of that description stuff too when I write. I liked your top ten list posted earlier. Your work sounds like it might be interesting.

    Good luck on finishing and then revising. πŸ™‚

  3. Thought I’d drop by and comment. Way to go on the rough draft. I skip a lot of that description stuff too when I write. I liked your top ten list posted earlier. Your work sounds like it might be interesting.

    Good luck on finishing and then revising. πŸ™‚

  4. Thought I’d drop by and comment. Way to go on the rough draft. I skip a lot of that description stuff too when I write. I liked your top ten list posted earlier. Your work sounds like it might be interesting.

    Good luck on finishing and then revising. πŸ™‚

  5. Thought I’d drop by and comment. Way to go on the rough draft. I skip a lot of that description stuff too when I write. I liked your top ten list posted earlier. Your work sounds like it might be interesting.

    Good luck on finishing and then revising. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

