Not Even Close.


So I haven’t worked on the Deacon Chalk book for this is now the third day. I hit a wall. Nothing big, I just hit a point where I knew what I had in mind to happen, but the words would not go.

No sweat, especially since right now ther is NO pressure at all.

Then this morning, on the way to the day job, I had a revelation.

I am nowhere near the end of the story.

Really.I thought I was two chapters from wrapping up the rough draft that I would then go back into and revise and edit. Then in the car, lightning struck, and I have another 20-30,000 words to wrap it up.

And this isn’t just fluff. This is stuff that should happen to make the ending I have in mind work. Plus it frames out and explains the Burgeoning Love Interest (BLI) and the offshoot character for the second series I have in mind set int he same universe.

Eeeeexxxxxxxx-ci-lant.

So that is where I am at. It may really be December before I get this done. But we shall see, since I have a free monday to do nothing but work on the book.

I will keep you informed.

23 Comments

  1. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!
    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.
    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  2. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  3. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  4. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  5. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  6. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  7. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  8. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!
    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.
    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  9. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  10. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  11. So I’m reading through you blog entries, buzzing along noting some frustration, some writerly angst (which is a whole lot less melodramatic then that teenage stuff), and then it hits me – Damn, it sounds like me!

    I’ve only produced one novel so far but understand the need to go back and add a ton of crap that esacped me the first dozen times around. It sucked but it read a whole lot smoother afterwards. Your Wholly Trinity makes total sense. And your writer’s oath should be posted on every computer. Very sound and very true.

    Good luck to you on the current WIP. And BTW – are you NaNoing this year? It’s the only way I’ll get off my ass and produce more content.

  12. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.
    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.
    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  13. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  14. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  15. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  16. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  17. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  18. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  19. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.
    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.
    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  20. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  21. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  22. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

  23. I love it when lightning strikes and I SEEEEE in a flash of light what needs to be done.

    I HATE it when lightning strikes and burns a big ol’ hole in my illusions of competency.

    Man, I have issues. Like pikestephenson says, we all sound a lot alike. And that sound is the thunk of forehead hitting keyboard.

Leave a Reply

