DRAFT ONE DONE


Last night I finished the first draft on my WIP.

It felt really good.

I know it’s rough. I know I will have a TON of polishing to do. But it is DONE!

I was sick as a dog on Thursday which meant that I slept pretty non-stop from Wednesday night at 11 til 4pm on Thursday. That’s 18 hours of sleep. I normally get about 6. With all that sleep though, I felt much better, so when the Missus trotted off to bed I was still up. I quit procrastinating and began to write.

I was just getting ready for the finale, the big battle at the end of the book with the Big Bad. I wrote for over two hours, until I couldn’t see straight. When I was done for the night I had a realization come over me that I could finish this damn book. I really and truly could complete it.

I got up and went to work yesterday, Friday, and began to write as soon as I had nothing better to do. The words were flowing across the page like nobodies business. I KNEW exactly what was going to happen and yet it was all new to me as I typed like a demon.

Lots of things got put to paper (computer screen) in my furious dash to finish this draft. I was able to hurt my characters in a realistic (?) way for the first time. I wrote a shootout in what felt like an exciting read, and I was able to keep the terror of the Big Bad all the way thru the ending. That was the hardest thing to do.

It would have been easy for the Main Character to be the big damn hero and once the chips were down he rallied and kicked the ass of the Big Bad. We’ve all seen it in tv shows. The Big Bad is kicking everybody’s ass and the HERO decides he or she has had ENOUGH. They then rally and dispatch the Big Bad in a matter of moments that look triumphant and easy. Then you think: “well, if it was that easy, why didn’t you just get mad earlier?”

Not in my story. Blood was shed and flesh sacrificed every step of the way. The Big Bad stayed the Big Bad thru the entire finale. Every moment she was on screen she was terrifying.

But, back tot he point, I AM DONE!

So from this point I will give the book a rest for a few days. During this time I will not open the file or look at it. I will instead finish reading One Foot In The Grave by Jeaniene Frost (excellent book BTW) and read at least one more book uninterrupted. Once I have a few days of distance I will go thru the book and spell check it. (Nope, in my first draft I was spewing the book out so fast I did not even spell check.) Then I will print it out triple spaced, and grab my red pen. Then I will read my book and make notes of things I need to revise. I expect red to be on every page.

Once that is done, then I will sit and go thru my book and revise like a bastard. Currently the book is almost 55,000 words, the things that need to be added and removed should push it to over 80,000.

After the revision is done, then and only then will I allow my betas to read what I have crafted.

All that though is work for next week. Today I am just feeling satisfied in the glory of a finished first draft. And I think a GOOD first draft.

All Hail to the King, baby. Now gimme some sugar.

20 Comments

  1. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  2. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  3. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  4. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  5. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  6. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  7. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  8. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  9. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  10. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  11. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  12. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  13. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  14. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  15. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  16. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  17. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  18. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  19. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

  20. Congrats! First drafts always seem to be the most difficult part of the writing process. Distancing yourself for a few days is definitely a good thing; it’s hard to celebrate when you’re revising. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

