SPIDERS, GUNS, AND FIRE OH, HELLS YES! (or new cover art reveal)


Loyals and True Believers,

Let me talk to you about covers. Now when an author gets signed and a book is going live it needs a cover. Cover art is very important. It is the first thing a reader sees and it is the thing, oftentimes, that determines whether someone even buys the book in the first place.  It should hook the reader, informing them about the nuances of the story inside. A picture is worth a thousand words? Hell, put that picture on a cover and it becomes worth 80,000 words.

An authors get no say in the cover at all.

Generally, the author will see the cover before you, but we don’t get to speak to it at all or to make any changes.  I got lucky. I was sent model pictures for Deacon to choose from and was allowed to give a description of what I might like for cover one. Then the absolutely kick ass Gene Mollica (click here to see his site!) went and crafted the awesome cover to BLOOD AND BULLETS. I was real happy.

Then came the cover for e-novella 1 THAT THING AT THE ZOO. This one was put together by Lou Malcangi and the art department at Kensington.  I REALLY like the cover tot he e-novella and think it is super stellar considering there is ZERO budget on e-novella covers.

It came time to do the cover for SPIDER’S LULLABY (e-novella 2 out July 2012) and Lou and the boys delivered again! Here is the cover in all it’s glory.

C’mon, admit it. You are a bit creeped out right now. lol.

This story follows Deacon, Tiff, and Charlotte in a battle to save something held precious by Charlotte from the hands of an ex-yakuza assassin with a demon on his back. Mayhem, gunplay, and Were-spiders!

So now fast forward. I was given the chance to pop over another cover description/idea sheet and became friends through social media with Gene himself. We chatted and he began work on the cover for BLOOD AND SILVER (book 2 out in August of 2012). A while later Gene dropped me a line and told me he had finished the cover and was really happy with it. I contacted John and he was going to send it over for me to see.

Then the mail came.

In it was a package of cover flats for book 2. The Missus opened it and called me. She described it and I got excited. Then I came home and saw it for myself.

HOLY SHIZNACKIE BATMAN!

I love this cover. I cannot stop staring at it. I mean damn, I love cover one, but this one really resonates with me.  So enough with the yapping, here it is:

See? It. Is. AWESOME!

And Gene said I could use it however I want to promo so you will be seeing wallpapers for your computer and other items. I’m going to hang it on my wall.

 

6 Comments

  1. I do like the cover for Blood and Silver a little better then Blood and Bullets and news of a new e-novella makes my day. I am working on That Thing At The Zoo (kick ass narative btw) right now and I am totally sold on anything you write for this series from now untill Armageddon because its more likely then the world ending on December 21st 2012, and can’t wait to start Blood and Bullets. When does Spider’s Lullaby take place?

  2. Thanks! Please leave a review on wherever you got it if you feel comfortable with that. It means a lot for the series and pulls weight with the retailers and the publisher! (Post the anywhere you want!)
    SPIDER”S LULLABY is set approx. 3-5 months after BLOOD AND BULLETS and a few months before BLOOD AND SILVER. It bridges the gap between the two. 🙂

  3. Okay, that is one heck of a spider! Creepy isn’t a strong enough word! And my huge arachnophobia I inherited after watching the like titled movie just surfaced! *shiver*

    I LOVE IT! Yep! You are one lucky author Mr. Tuck! From Deacon’s first novel to the novellas and into the second book, you have covers that make readers gasp, cringe, and shiver…then turn it over to read the blurb that causes the same damn reaction!

    *Nods*

    You’ve got it good!

    Congratulations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

